2017 AFCON Qualifier: Nigeria’s Super Eagles Coach, Genort Rohr Lists Ighalo, Mikel, and Moses for Tanzania Clash

John Obi Mikel seen in a huddle with the rest of his Dream Team VI mates at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

Super Eagles Technical Adviser, Genort Rohr named a 23-man squad that was led by John Obi Mikel, Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo, and Victor Moses for the 2017 African Cup of Nations clash with the Taifa Stars of Tanzania on September 3 in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria.

The squad, which has three goalkeepers, eight defenders, four midfielders, and eight strikers would be Rohr’s first baptism of fire as coach of the team after being appointed by the Nigeria Football Federation in August. Among the regulars are Kelechi Iheanacho, Leo Balogun, Elderson Echiejile, Carl Ikeme, and William Troost-Ekong.

Practice camp will resume Sunday, August 28, after some of the Nigerian international players feature for their respective clubs in Europe.

The match against the Taifa Stars has no consequence in the group considering the fact that Egypt had already won the sole automatic qualification ticket for Gabon 2017.

Interestingly, Rohr has extended invitations to some of the Ro Olympic players such as Imoh Ezekiel, Emmanuel Daniel, Musa Muhammed, Abdullahi Shehu, Kingsley Madu and a surprise inclusion of Victor Osimhen, who was a hit at the 2015 FIFA U-17 World Cup where the Golden Eaglets won the trophy.


Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC Ifeanyi Ubah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Troost-Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); Jamiu Alimi (Kano Pillars); Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France), Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia)

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Nosa Igiebor (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Imoh Ezekiel (Al-Arabi Sporting Club, Qatar), Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany)