Nigerian Wrestlers Begin Training for 2016 Olympics in Rio

nigerian_wrestlerTwenty-six wrestlers resumed camp on Wednesday at the Den Gymnasium in Yenagoa, Bayelsa, in the build up to the 2016 Rio Olympics.

Daniel Igali, President of Nigeria Wrestling Federation (NWF), told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Lagos that the pre-camping was to get the wrestlers well prepared before the national camp.

“I believe that the National Sports Commission will approve the commencement of national camps soon. I don’t want the pronouncement to meet us unprepared. We want to be on motion and just go a step further when the directive eventually comes. We will be using this pre-camp to get the wrestlers ready for the proper Olympic camping,” he said.

Igali said that the federation had mapped out programs to keep the wrestlers together for at least two weeks.

“The major thing we are working on is their style and techniques. We got a lot of tips from the All African Games in Brazzavillie, Congo.

“In Brazzavillie, we were able to note the wrestlers’ weaknesses and that is what we intend to work on and perfect. The bulk of the wrestlers in camp are the ones that participated in the All African Games. We just introduced more wrestlers to the team,’’ Igali said.

He added that the wrestlers would be training for two hours a day, stressing that “during the week, they will train once a day for two hours and next week two times a day.

“Next week will be morning and afternoon sessions. This pre-camping is all about techniques development’” he added.

He named the wrestlers as Welson Ebikewenimo, Daniel Amas, Bibo Melvin, Dick Adibo, Tamarau Soso, Nworie Emmanuel, Ituru Oke, Okeke Tochukwu, Onyemelusi Abraham, Agbonavbare Joe.

Others are Genesis Mercy, Adekuoroye Odunayo, Adeniyi Aminat, Oborududu Blessing, Rueben Hannah, Iheanacho Ifeoma, Onyebuchi Blessing, Nweke Rosemary, Nwoye Ifeoma, Makanjuola Bisola, Clackson Sampson and Enozunimi Simeon.

The rest are Ekerekeme Agiomor, Ebi Akene and John Ogbonna.

According to him, the coaches are Victor Kodei, Purity Akuh, Tiebiri Godswill, Oziti Joe, Happiness Burutu and Damian Ohaike.