Video: Aubameyang Crowned King Of African Football

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
Photo Courtesy of

Gabon striker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has been named CAF player of the year after defeating Ivory Coast’s Yaya Toure and Ghana’s Andrew Ayew at the Confederation of African Football award ceremony on Thursday, January 7, in Abuja, Nigeria.

Aubameyang who is the first player from the Central African country to win the award, received a total of 143 votes compared to Toure’s 136 votes. Ayew, who left Olympique Marseille in France for Swansea City in mid-year, was third with 112 votes.

The  African Footballer of the Year is decided by a vote of coaches or technical directors of all Africa’s national teams.

Toure had won the award for an unprecedented four years in succession from 2011-2015 and was the favorite for a fifth year after captaining Ivory Coast to the African Nations Cup title.

Aubameyang may not have won anything in terms of titles last season for Borussia Dortmund and Gabon, however, he scored 29 Bundesliga goals in 2015, including 18 this season plus a further seven in the Europa League. He is the first Bundesliga-based player to win the annual award first introduced in 1970.