Siasia Names 42 Man Squad for Egypt Clash; US Based Adi is Called for the First Time

Fanendo Adi of the Portland Timbers scoring a goal against the LA Galaxy, MLS. Photo/Portland Tribune

Super Eagles coach, Samson Siasia has named a strong list of 42 players that will confront the Pharaohs of Egypt in the 2017 African Cup of Nations double-header clash that begins on March 25th.

Siasia who was appointed interim coach of the senior national team after Sunday Oliseh’s resignation last week Friday, has promised to pick up six points in the two matches against Egypt.

The list saw the return of Victor Moses, Aaron Samuel, Daniel Akpeyi and newly invited Portland Timbers of USA, Fanendo Adi to the Super Eagles.

Popular on the list are Ahmed Musa, John Obi Mikel, Kelechi Iheanacho, Odion Ighalo, Carl Ikeme, Efe Ambrose, Elderson Echiejile, Godfrey Oboabona and Kenneth Omeruo.

The former Dream Team coach invited 22 home based players and 20 foreign based players for the crucial encounter that could determine which team tops group G.

Nigeria’s camp training will begin, March 6, with the home based players in Abuja before the foreign players will join them after their respective league matches.

Adi delighted with Super Eagles call-up

Newly invited Super Eagles striker, Fanendo Adi has revealed that he’s happy to have been called up by team’s coach, Samson Siasia on Thursday.

The U.S based star who puts on his football cleats for the Portland Timbers wrote on his Twitter handle: “Glory to God. Woke up to the best news of my life. Wao I am invited to the Super Eagles. Let’s make the nation proud.”

He made 39 appearances, scoring 18 goals for the Major League side last season.

Home-based professionals

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars), Olufemi Thomas (Enyimba), Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers)

Defenders: Kalu Orji Okogbue (Enugu Rangers), Chibuzor Okonkwo (FC IfeanyiUbah), Mathew Etim (Enugu Rangers), Austin Oboroakpo (Abia Warriors), Sincere Seth (Rhapsody FC), Segun Oduduwa (Nath Boys), Chima Akas (Akwa United), Chris Madaki (Kano Pillars), Oke Ogogatewho (Sunshine Stars)

Midfielders: Ifeanyi Mathew (Kano Pillars), Usman Mohammed (FC Taraba), Etebo Oghenekaro (Warri Wolves), Yau Hassan (Wikki Tourists), Stanley Dimgba (Warri Wolves)

Forwards: Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba), Prince Aggrey (Kano Pillars), Bright Onyedikachi (FC IfeanyiUbah), Chisom Chikatara (Abia Warriors), Godwin Obaje (Wikki Tourists)

Overseas-based professionals

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland), Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal); Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France), Stanley Amuzie (Olhanense FC, Portugal), Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy), John Obi Mikel (Chelsea, England), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England), Azubuike Okechukwu (Yeni Matalyspor, Turkey)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium), Victor Moses (West Ham United, England), Aminu Umar (Osmanlispor FK, Turkey), Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England), Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England), Fanendo Adi (Portland Timbers, USA)